Double Tax Agreement Germany Switzerland

The protocol became necessary to appease the European Commission, which had considered that the agreement could be contrary to the European Treaty. By threatening to refer the matter to the European Court of Justice, the United Kingdom and Switzerland have agreed that account holders who have already paid the 35% withholding tax due under the European Savings Tax will be subject to a final withholding tax of 13% in order to reduce the tax debt on interest payments. This page provides information on German double taxation conventions and other country-specific publications on double taxation conventions. You can view the original texts via our German website. Foreign investors can also benefit from significant economic benefits, even if their country has not signed a double taxation agreement with Switzerland, since they can claim tax deductions in their home country. These deductions can be obtained in Switzerland in the form of tax credits. Switzerland has signed double taxation conventions with more than 100 countries, about half of which are modernised on the model of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). The common provision of all Swiss double taxation conventions has concluded that non-residents can claim a partial or full tax refund from the cantonal tax authorities in Switzerland. The colour-coded world map shows the countries with which Germany entered into double taxation agreements on income and capital taxes on 1 January 2019, as well as legal assistance and mutual assistance agreements (including the exchange of information). It also shows the countries with which Germany is negotiating such agreements for the first time. There is also an agreement between the German Taipei Institute and the Taipei Representative Office in Berlin. Since the Federal Republic of Germany has never recognized Taiwan as a sovereign state, this agreement is not an international treaty.

However, the structure and content of the agreement is based on the OECD model convention.